Reason 164: Because KISS Is Better, And Complicated Is Common Core Stupid

KISS, in case you don’t know, is “Keep It Simple Stupid”. With that said, let me say that I feel I have an open mind, which simply means I’m willing to follow the evidence where it leads. And I have to admit, I’ve even seen the point that some of the common core math problems which were held up as examples of failure were trying to make.  We all develop our own personal mental gymnastic when we do mental math, but those gymnastic are performed on a solid basic understanding of math. You don’t start with some self-supposed genius’s favorite mental-math gymnastic. You start with the basics, and make it as simple as possible.

I can’t tell you how glad I am to be using Saxon Math, which is nothing at all like this video, even though it’s apparently tailored around Common Core’s goals. I feel so sorry for the poor young guinea-pigs that will grow up hating math because some clown thought his brilliant idea was the best thing ever. I’m thinking that history will not treat this kindly:

3 Comments

Filed under Academics, Common Core

3 responses to “Reason 164: Because KISS Is Better, And Complicated Is Common Core Stupid

  1. Saxon Math is great stuff – we used that.

Leave a Reply

