Reason 314: Because I’m An Expert, And I Say So

Yes, I’m an expert on education. What credential’s do I have to prove it, you ask?  Well, as an expert, how could I be wrong about being an expert? I’m credentialed by an expert, me. And since 75 percent of American students, who are in the statist school, do worse than my students, I’d say that the proof is in the statist pudding. Wouldn’t you?

Of course, that’s all nonsense.  But so is much of what the “experts” say. We only get fad after fad from this expert’s best idea ever, or that expert’s brainchild, with an increasingly deteriorating, expensive, bloated failure of a system. And all the while no “expert” wants to look at the King Kong-sized pink elephant walking around the schoolhouse compound, which is family. No, we can’t have that because that means patriarchy, and homophobia, and racism and all the other so-called phobias that the state fears.

 

I was thinking about myself this morning, one of my favorite things to do. My wife and children know that I love self-deprecating humor, and they all hate it. No family member wants to hear their father or husband often refer to himself as a moron, and I can understand that. But the truth is, I am a moron… in some areas. When it comes to administrating our household, complete and utter moron. When it comes to fixing the washing machine, genius. When it comes to language arts, average, I guess. When it comes to using money to make money, moron of morons.  When it comes to fatherhood, we’ll see. When it comes to seeing the big picture, expert. When it comes to attention to detail, moronic. I could go on… and on, but  you get the point.

Everyone is like this. We all have our strengths and weaknesses in many many ways and on many levels.  Now for a challenge to you. Bring 30 sixth graders into your house for an hour each weekday for 3 months with the goal of teaching them how to pass a Common Core test. Now, at the end of that time sit down and write about the many strengths and weaknesses of each child and how the state can cultivate their strengths and mitigate their weaknesses while at the same time still affording to fund the generous administrator and teacher pensions. Ok, forget the pensions, tell me how they could they do it if there actually wasn’t a dollars-for-votes union/government pension program.  Answer? They can’t.

Children are so unique and complex, just like the grownups they will become. And the more an education is tailored to a child’s unique giftings and challenges, the better that student is going to fair, and the more the chance for success in character, knowledge, understanding and wisdom that child will have. The state can never provide this. But you can, and if you want your child to get a real education, you must.

Leave a comment

Filed under Education

Leave a Reply

